Skip to content

I am old enough that I should know this.

July 23, 2009

If you spill the salt into the cupcake batter? They are UNSALVAGEABLE. No matter how much of it you think you might have scooped out. Nobody likes a salty cupcake. Even with Nutella frosting.

But you can totally redeem yourself by making these the following day: Ina Garten Chocolate White Chocolate cookies.

Matt made a face when I said I was baking cookies with white chocolate, but he ate six of these.

Matt made a face when I said I was baking cookies with white chocolate, but he ate six.

These are the ugliest cookies I’ve ever baked. Most cookies meld together a little as they heat up, but these just sat there and stayed ugly. Lucky for them they were delicious, which is way more important when it comes to baked goods anyway. The salty cupcakes were beautiful, and all but one of those ended up in the garbage. We ate that one with about a tablespoon of frosting on each bite, and only because it was my birthday and you have to have SOME kind of cake, right?

I am a perfect cube this year, for the third time in my life, and it will probably only happen one more time. (Perfect cubes: 13=1, 23=8, 33=27, 43=64… I am such a nerd.) We spent a week in Palm Springs at the beginning of the month for our anniversary, and since we don’t have my income this summer, a low-key birthday was just what I had in mind. I slept in, did a few crafty things around the house, baked, and spent the afternoon reading and lounging by the pool (in a CABANA, by the way, because our new apartment complex is AWESOME.) Matt took care of dinner, and we finished off the evening by watching the most quotable movie ever: When Harry Met Sally. Seriously, we quote that ADORABLE Asian man all the time: “I think, if I don’t like the way she look, I don’t marry her. But she looks really nice to me, so I say, OKAY.” In fact, all the old couples talking about how they fell in love are adorable, and if you’ve never seen it, GO watch this clip: When Harry Met Sally – Love Stories right now. So great. Also, the whole pecan pie scene is just proof that Billy Crystal is a really talented guy. I forgot how much I love that movie, and how much I love watching it with Matt, until last night.

Also, this quote? Sums up why we got married at 21.

I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.

And now I’m going to go snuggle my cute husband. Happy birthday to me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

