Skip to content

Everyone deserves a summer vacation.

July 20, 2010

I love my job for lots of reasons – my students mostly, the relationships I develop with them, and the joy of showing them the ins and outs of a traditionally “boring” subject. I look forward to the first day of school. I love what I do.

But I also love having a summer vacation. Days like today are too infrequent during the school year.

I met a good friend, K, for lunch today, and we spent the afternoon searching through some thrift stores (and IKEA, after the thrifting thing was a bust) for some little decor stuff. We’re both at a kind of similar stage, at least when it comes to decorating – married, not yet homeowners, and wanting our places to feel a little more grown up than where we lived in college.

The best thing about being in my late twenties is the kinds of friendships that have developed in my life. The superficial friends, the friends who just want to party, the friends who are always competing and comparing and gossiping – they’ve slipped away. The friends I have left? Are the best of the best. They’re girls I can trust, who understand that all lives and people are imperfect, and who approach it all with a sense of humor. K is totally one of those people, and spending time with her lightened up a day that could have, for personal reasons, been a disappointing one.

It also doesn’t hurt that she’s adorable.

Me and K

Yay summer!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

