Skip to content

Natural Skin Care

July 30, 2010

I have really problematic skin. It tricked me. I thought I had great skin, because I did – until I was 17. I had occasional breakouts before then, but nothing that couldn’t be covered easily with a little concealer.

Since then, I have struggled with oiliness, constant breakouts, combination skin, and scarring. I cover it up with makeup pretty well, but now that I’m a little older, I’m starting to have fine lines AND breakouts. Concurrently. UN. FAIR.

I’ve seen been to spas and dermatologists, and every solution I’ve been presented works… for a month. Maybe. And then my skin is back to where it was, only considerably more traumatized than it was before. I had pretty much given up on having pretty skin. And then I stumbled upon the Oil Cleansing Method, and I’ll give you the snippet about mainstream skin products that really caught my eye:

These products strip the oil out of our skin, leaving our largest organ trying to repair itself by replacing the oil stripped away. This leaves us in a cycle of being tight and dry followed by the inevitable oil slick. Each time we strip the oil away, our skin over-compensates for the lack of moisture by creating more oil.

This makes SO much sense. If you’re still doubtful, read the whole thing. They aren’t selling anything, because what you use to wash your face with this method is olive oil (and a little castor oil). I picked up organic versions of both at our health food store.

You guys. You would not believe the stuff that is coming out of my pores when I do this. Seriously. It’s gross.

But my combination skin is balancing out – the dry spots are disappearing, AND my chin quit producing an oil slick during the day. And I haven’t had a new breakout since I started this a little over a week ago.

Posts here usually tend toward teaching, or little snippets about my personal life, but I had to share this, if only because I wish I had known about it sooner. Try it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

