Skip to content

Babies! (Not mine, yet…)

August 2, 2010

My good friend, C, is pregnant with her first, a boy. Her husband is in Cabo on a bachelor party vacation for one of his friends, so I got to accompany her to the ultrasound today! (They knew the sex already, this was just a checkup.)

Ultrasound pictures usually make me feel like an idiot. If I’m lucky, I can sometimes tell where the head is. (Please, tell me I’m not alone in this!) But seeing one in person? Is totally different. It is one of the most fascinating things I have ever experienced. First of all, C is naturally tall and thin, and has gained all of 5 pounds in 17 weeks of pregnancy. Her doctor assured her she’s healthy, but she’s really barely showing at all. You’d never guess by looking at her that she’s pregnant, so seeing her little guy move around (and he did, a lot!) was breathtaking. She was able to see his fingers and toes, which she hadn’t gotten a glimpse of at her last ultrasound. It was so cool of her to invite me – having kids is probably in our near future, but I have to admit I’m a little clueless about the medical side of things. And just in case there was anything wrong (there wasn’t!) I was glad she wasn’t there alone.

I’m meeting with some more friends on Saturday to start planning her shower.  I am a compulsive bookmarker, especially when it comes to parties, so I’ll at least show up with some ideas to start with. Here are links to some of my favorite showers that others have done:

Tea Party Shower at Oh, Happy Day

Miniatures at Say Yes to Hoboken

B is for Baby at Design Dazzle

An Autumn Shower at Design Dazzle

I helped with a Black and White and Read All Over shower last year; the mom-to-be was a teacher, loved children’s literature, and the color scheme fit her perfectly. Each guest was asked to bring their favorite children’s book to start her son’s library, and we decorated with board books. I wish I had gotten pictures, but I won’t make that mistake twice!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

