Skip to content

Just returned from Urgent Care

August 8, 2010

A couple of hours after lunch today, I noticed some swelling in my throat. It seems that I had a mild allergic reaction: no hives, no trouble breathing, just a little uncomfortableness and trouble swallowing.

I had a rainbow roll for lunch.

For those who are unacquainted with the rainbow roll, it is sushi. They take a California roll (crab, avocado and cucumber) and top it with slices of raw fish. Mine had tuna, salmon, some other white fish, and shrimp, along with some slices of avocado. Five different kinds of fish (including the crab) I could possibly be allergic to! My hope is that it’s shrimp, which I could take or leave – tuna is my very favorite kind of sushi, and salmon is definitely my favorite cooked fish. A life without crab and drawn butter would be a sad one indeed.

I’d really like to find out which one it is, so I know which ones I can have. Since the reaction was fairly mild and cleared up with some Benadryl, the only way to find out is to try them. Looks like I’ll be eating lots of sushi in the next couple weeks.

This may turn out to be a good thing after all…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

