Skip to content

The only reason I miss myspace.

April 20, 2011

I secretly love these things. On myspace (circa 2005) they were socially acceptable. On Facebook they are not. Skip it if you like. (:

What is your favorite sit-down restaurant?
Granville. I miss being able to walk there.

What food could you eat every day for two weeks and not get sick of?
Sushi, and very basic things – my favorite snack is a tortilla warmed over the burner, with a slice of cheese and some turkey. I pretty much eat that every day.

What are your pizza toppings of choice?
Pepperoni and mushroom, or extra cheese and pineapple. If I’m feeling fancy, goat cheese and basil. Lots of crushed red pepper on everything.

What do you like to put on your toast?
EVERYTHING. I would eat most things on toast. I recently did one of those spreadable cheese wedges with roasted red pepper spread, and it was amazing. My usual breakfast is some combination of poached egg/havarti cheese/avocado on toast.

How many televisions are in your house?
Zero. Streaming Netflix, Hulu, and iTunes provide a great TV fix, without having it on for no reason.

The color of your cell phone?
Black. I want a pretty cover like this but I’m finding it a little hard to justify for $40.

Are you right-handed or left-handed?
Right-handed, but people always guess I’m left handed because I wear my watch on the wrong wrist. I don’t like anything competing with my wedding ring.

What is the last heavy item you lifted?
A box full of last-year’s tests… just got them out of the filing cabinet today, how embarrassingly disorganized.

If it were possible, would you want to know the day you were going to die?
Um… yes. I like predictability and security. I’m not morbid, I promise.

If you could change your name, what would you change it to?
I always thought I’d make a good Brooke. But now that I write it down it seems weird.

How many pairs of flip flops do you own?
Five? Mostly cheap plastic Old Navy ones – I have two pairs that have lasted 3 summers and are still going strong.

Last time you had a run-in with the cops?
A couple of weeks ago, at my friend S’s house – the boys were playing video game hockey, and celebrating too loudly for the neighbors, apparently. At 10 on a Saturday, kind of silly.

Favorite season?
The rainy season! So basically, the two days in February it rains around here.

Favorite month?
July! No school, our anniversary, and my birthday.

Missing someone?
Yep. My momma lives in Canada, so missing her. Thinking a lot about my grandpa who passed away last year, recently. And my inseparable friend J, who had the nerve to spend Easter Break with her family.

First place you went this morning?
Birthday breakfast with one of my favorite students. She’s so much like me, it’s a little scary.

What’s the last movie you saw?
Matt’s working his way through this list: 101102 Movies you Must See Before… The last one I watched all of without falling asleep was Rear Window.

Do you always answer your phone?
Gah, no. I hate hate hate talking on the phone. Especially when I don’t know who’s calling. Ugh.

What’s on your wish list for your birthday?
Hmmm… this necklace, a food processor, a phone case, another massage…

Do you do push ups?
Not if I can help it. I do downward facing dog, that’s about the best my arms are capable of.

What are your plans for tonight?
LOL… um, this? Grade papers? Eat Nutella with a spoon?

Have you ever been given roses?
Yes! But hydrangeas are my favorites.

My favorite thing about this picture is knowing that Matthew didn't just send me flowers, he sent flowers to my single teacher friend from both of us.

Current worry?
I worry that my husband will never love his job, a la Death of a Salesman.

Current hate right now?
Don’t waste much energy on that.

Met someone who changed your life?
I think everyone you meet changes your life.

How will you bring in the New Year?
Hopefully just like we did last year, at a cabin in Big Bear with some of our best friends. Best New Years yet.

These girls make me laugh like this on a regular basis.

Would you go back in time if you were given the chance?
Definitely. I have a lot to teach younger me about kindness and confidence.

Have you ever dated someone longer than a year?
Going on ten years, actually…

At Disneyland, in 2002. The first picture we took together.

What kind of music did you listen to in elementary school?
Paula Abdul because I LOVED her, NKOTB because everyone else did, and whatever my momma had on the radio (50’s/60’s oldies).

Are most of the friends in your life new or old?
New-ish. The people I’m closest to now I’ve met in the last 5 years. I miss my old friends, but they aren’t friends with me because our lives took different paths (particularly wrt religion), and although it still makes me sad, I’ve come to terms with that.

Do you like pulpy orange juice?
I would rather go thirsty.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

